Schooldays.ie - Ireland's Online Resource for Parents & Teachers

Parenting & Education in Ireland

username: password: Log in | Register | Forgot Password?

2012/2013 School Year Calendar



Below is the agreed school calendar for 2012/2013. For the first time, contingency arrangements have been put in place within the standardised school year to deal with unforseen school closures. Parents should be aware of these contingency arrangements if booking holidays.


October 2012 mid-term break

All schools will close from Monday 29th October 2012 to Friday 2nd November 2012 inclusive.

Christmas 2012

All schools will close on Friday 21st December 2012, which will be the final day of the school term.
All schools will re-open on Monday 7th January 2013.

February 2013 mid-term break

All primary schools will close on Thursday 14th February 2013 and Friday 15th February 2013. (Primary schools may use 3 discretionary days to extend this break to an alternative option of a 5 day break for the period from Monday 11th February 2013 to Friday 15th February 2013 inclusive unless changes are required as part of contingency arrangements to make up for time lost due to unforeseen school closures.)
Post-primary schools will close from Monday 11th February 2013 to Friday 15th February 2013 inclusive unless changes are required as part of contingency arrangements to make up for time lost due to unforeseen school closures.

Where contingency arrangements are required a school authority may reduce the length of the February mid-term break by remaining open up to and including Wednesday 13th February 2013.

Easter 2013

All schools will close on Friday 22nd March 2013, which will be the final day of the school term, unless changes are required as part of contingency arrangements to make up for time lost due to unforeseen school closures. Where contingency arrangements are required a school authority may reduce the length of the Easter break by remaining open up to and including Wednesday 27th March 2013.
All schools will re-open on Monday 8th April 2013.

Source: Dept of Education Website - View the PDF