Schooldays.ie - Ireland's Online Resource for Parents & Teachers

for Parents & Teachers in Irish Education

username: password: Log in | Register | Forgot Password?

2013/2014 School Year Calendar



Below is the agreed school calendar for 2013/2014. For the first time, contingency arrangements have been put in place within the standardised school year to deal with unforseen school closures. Parents should be aware of these contingency arrangements if booking holidays.

October 2013 mid-term break

All schools will close from Monday 28th October 2013 to Friday 1st November 2013 inclusive.

Christmas 2013

All schools will close on Friday 20th December 2013, which will be the final day of the school term.
All schools will re-open on Monday 6th January 2014.

February 2014 mid-term break

All primary schools will close on Thursday 20th February 2014 and Friday 21st February 2014. (Primary schools may use 3 discretionary days to extend this break to an alternative option of a 5 day break for the period from Monday 17th February 2014 to Friday 21st February 2014 inclusive unless changes are required as part of contingency arrangements to make up for time lost due to unforeseen school closures.)

Post-primary schools will close from Monday 17th February 2014 to Friday 21st February 2014 inclusive unless changes are required as part of contingency arrangements to make up for time lost due to unforeseen school closures.

Where contingency arrangements are required a school authority may reduce the length of the February mid-term break by remaining open up to and including Wednesday 19th February 2014.

Easter 2014

All schools will close on Friday 11th April 2014, which will be the final day of the school term, unless changes are required as part of contingency arrangements to make up for time lost due to unforeseen school closures. Where contingency arrangements are required a school authority may reduce the length of the Easter break by remaining open up to and including Wednesday 16th April 2014.
All schools will re-open on Monday 28th April 2014.

Source: Dept of Education Website - View the PDF