Parenting & Education in Ireland

Schooldays.ie - Ireland's Online Resource for Parents & Teachers

Parenting & Education

× Home Parents Associations About Us

Assistance for dyslexic student

re... : Assistance for dyslexic student           reply
29/08/2008 10:16 - Special Needs / Tutors Required
-----------------------------------
Thanks for that. Unfortunately we only discovered our sons dyslexia when already in secondary school and so working on the backfoot (so to speak). Its been extremely difficult and certainly supports are very poor - know what you mean about the department - cutbacks etc!!!!!!! Best of luck

re : Assistance for dyslexic student           reply
21/08/2008 22:03 - Special Needs / Tutors Required
Hi, I recently gave grinds(Im a Primary school teacher), to a Leaving Cert. student who had the same problem but I don´t think the school were even aware of it and therefore nothing was done about it for her exams. As far as I know, a dyslexic student is allowed to have someone beside them, in the exam, to write the answers which the student themselves give, so as there isn´t much mis-spelling. Not entirely sure of this and whether it still exists.

27/08/2008 13:11 - Special Needs / Tutors Required
Hi Eimer, thank you very much for that, its a very good website. Anything that keeps them reading is great, but I never taught about that type of material other than heavily over-priced audio-books. In relation to the exemptions carrying over, I am certain that is what I was told. The exemptions and supports in primary are supposedly applicable for second level nor is the assessment, because a student matures. But I know at the end of 2nd year when I had my son re-assessed we where told the exemptions granted carried over into the Leaving Cert and on to Third Level. Not sure if a further assessment is required at third level. But the department? what a shower, only for the school he goes to he´d have been left behind.