Schooldays.ie - Ireland's Online Resource for Parents & Teachers

Parenting & Education

× Home Parents Associations About Us

Seeking Help with School Research Project

Seeking Help with School Research Project           reply
02/10/2020 12:05 - Introduce Yourself
-----------------------------------
Hi everyone,

I am a current doctoral student in the School of Psychology at NUI Galway. I am doing a research project looking at age-related differences in children’s language abilities used to understand time concepts between the ages of 3 and 7 years.

I am looking for families that may be interested in participating in this study. Participation involves:
- A few 1:1 testing sessions with your child at a location and times convenient to your family.
- During the sessions, the researcher will present a series of questions or activities to your child. They´ll only be asked to answer to the best of their ability and no preparation is required.
- All engagement will also be carried out in line with government relayed COVID guidelines.

By participating, you and your child will:
- Provide a valuable contribution to science by helping further our understanding of how children’s sense of time develops.
- Directly contribute critical information to help us develop more effective training to improve these abilities in children.
- Get to participate in testing activities that stimulate important cognitive activity.

You will also receive information about your child´s:
- Performance on a test of basic concepts that are relevant to cognitive and language development, as well as early childhood academic achievement.
- Performance on a standardized test of cognitive abilities.
- Performance on our test of skills relevant to understanding time sequences (how events can be related as before/after other events).