- Ireland's Online Resource for Parents & Teachers

Parenting & Education in Ireland

Houses, Gardens and Parks to visit for Family Fun Days out in Leinster

Altamont Gardens
Large, beautiful old world garden, Robinsonian in style with a strong emphasis on the informal tradition of combining a good plant collection within the natural landscape of its environment. Lawns and clipped yews slope down to a lake surrounded by rare trees and shrubs and a profusion of rosesr. Guided Tours available on request. Find out more.
Avondale House & Forest Park
Beautiful historic Georgian House, birthplace and home of Charles Stewart Parnell. Open until 31st Oct to visit. Set in over 500 acres of frest parkland. Signposted walks, picnic area, children's play area, orienteering course, deer pen. Kitchen Cafe. Find out more Find out more.
Greenan Maze
Situated in Wicklow hills you can spend a whole day wandering around this family farm in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.  Visit the two full sized mazes, three traditional farming museums, wild nature walks, ponds and abundant wild-life, farm animals, treasure hunts and a fairy tree walk for toddlers, kids playground, a craft shop and tea-rooms with home baking.  Find out more.
Lullymore Heritage and Discovery Park
Lullymore Heritage & Discovery Park is set on a mineral island in the heart of Ireland’s largest peatland, the Bog of Allen in West Kildare. The Park is great for family fun offering excellent indoor / outdoor play areas, pet farm and train trips. Described by many as a true hidden gem, Lullymore is a great place to discover a truly educational and fun day out for all! Find out more.
Belvedere House Gardens and Park
Belvedere House Gardens and Park is a magnificent 160 acre Lakeside estate with fully restored Georgian Villa, Victorian Walled Garden, naturalistic designed 18th century parkland punctuated with Romantic follies including the largest in Ireland the Jealous Wall. Find out more.
Heywood Gardens
Completed in 1912, the property consists of gardens, lakes, woodland and architectural features. It was transferred to State ownership in November 1993 from the Salesian Fathers who had taken care of it since 1941. Find out more .