Schooldays.ie - Ireland's Online Resource for Parents & Teachers

Parenting & Education in Ireland

2020/2021 School Year Calendar



Below is the agreed school calendar for 2020/2021. Contingency arrangements have been put in place within the standardised school year to deal with unforseen school closures. Parents should be aware of these contingency arrangements if booking holidays.

October 2020 mid-term break

All schools will close from Monday 26th October 2020 to Friday 30th October 2020 inclusive.

Christmas 2020

All schools will close on Tuesday 22nd December 2020 which will be the final day of the school term.
All schools will re-open on Wednesday 6th January 2021

February 2021 mid-term break

All primary schools will close on Thursday 18th February 2021 and Friday 19th February 2021. (Primary schools may use 3 discretionary days to extend this break to an alternative option of a 5 day break for the period from Monday 15th February 2021 to Friday 19th February 2021 inclusive unless changes are required as part of contingency arrangements to make up for time lost due to unforeseen school closures.)

Post-primary schools will close from Monday 15th February 2021 to Friday 19th February 2021 inclusive unless changes are required as part of contingency arrangements to make up for time lost due to unforeseen school closures.

Where contingency arrangements are required a school authority may reduce the length of the February mid-term break by remaining open up to and including Wednesday 17th February 2021.

Easter 2021

All schools will close on Friday 26th March 2021, which will be the final day of the school term, unless changes are required as part of contingency arrangements to make up for time lost due to unforeseen school closures. Where contingency arrangements are required a school authority may reduce the length of the Easter break by remaining open up to and including Wednesday 31st March 2021.
All schools will re-open on Monday 12th April 2021





Source: Dept of Education Website -

;