- Ireland's Online Resource for Parents & Teachers

Parenting & Education in Ireland

3 Catholic primary schools re-open as multi-denominational

Posted by Schooldays Newshound, on 27/08/2019. 3 Catholic primary schools re-open as multi-denominationalTags: Education And Politics

Education and Training Boards Ireland have said that three formerly Catholic schools are among ten primary schools that will open for the first time, or reopen, as Community National Schools for this new academic year. These three schools will make history by becoming the first to transfer from Catholic to multi-denominational patronage. Community National Schools are multi-denominational schools that are State-run by Local Education and Training Boards. 

Scoil an Ghleanna, a small school in south Kerry which has 14 pupils, will reopen on Thursday as a State-run Community National School. Previously Catholic-run Lecarrow School in County Roscommon and Tahilla National School in Kerry will both also reopen this week as multi-denominational Community National schools. Both are tiny schools, with just eight pupils each.

The three schools will now provide a multi-belief and values programme, as opposed to a Catholic one with preparation for the Catholic sacraments, such as Communion and Confirmation, to take place outside of school hours.

In additional to the above three Catholic schooks, Kilnamanagh CNS, Co Wexford is being transferred from the Church of Ireland and three other Steiner schools – Mol an Oige, Co Clare; Galway CNS; and Raheen Wood, Co Clare – that were already multi-denominational have been chosen to become Community National Schools (CNS)


No documents found

Submit a comment

Please respect the terms of use of our discussion boards. Full terms here .
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. When you submit your comment, you'll be sent a link to confirm it.
Name Email