Parenting & Education in Ireland

Schooldays.ie - Ireland's Online Resource for Parents & Teachers

Parenting & Education

× Home Parents Associations About Us

A fair deal for a Nanny?

re : A fair deal for a Nanny?           reply
27/05/2014 15:11 - How Much Should I Charge or Pay
-----------------------------------
Hi my name is Annmarie and live in Mountmellick co Laois I am a childminder of 2 siblings and don´t get near the amount your willing to pay, I think what your offering to pay is quiet fare ,and I start at 6.30 to 5.30 min-fri and do 2 school runs , I am looking to change jobs for a later start if your interested give me a call 0863010760 or pm me

27/05/2014 11:43 - How Much Should I Charge or Pay
I think that is most certainly a good deal! If I was in the laois area I would definitely apply for this position! I work as a nanny for 9 and a half hours a day for 50 euro a day. Collections, cooking all meals from scratch, doing the washing and keeping the house tidy. Along with homework etc. The days are very long and I am not very appreciated. Everything must be done perfect. And activities to be done with the children each day. I don´t get paid for bank holidays and I certainly don´t get holiday pay! I would be laughed at if I asked for that. I understand that some childminders ask for ridiculous prices for childcare. Iv saw some people saying 15-20 euro per hour. These people are not living in the real world and even though I am a childminder myself I wudnt expect that much off anyone! In a creche you get paid around 10 euro per hour and you do a lot more work in a creche than in a home. Childminders have to take that into consideration. However, I am being paid a little over a fiver an hour which is rather degrading for the amount of house work and driving that I do. I am considering leaving soon. I think your wage is very fair and its nice to see a parent actually appreciating a childminder and treating them equally and not looking down on them.