Schooldays.ie - Ireland's Online Resource for Parents & Teachers

Parenting & Education

× Home Parents Associations About Us

Homework for 3rd class in primary school

re : Homework for 3rd class in primary school           reply
04/09/2008 15:36 - Homework
-----------------------------------
Hi
I am a Primary School teacher and for the past two years I have had 3rd class. I usually gave my class around a half an hours homework each night as this was the school policy at the time. I currently have 6th and they are getting approx. 1 hours homework each evening. I personally think that the ´´4 hours homework´´ is obviously unacceptable for a third class teacher to give his/her children, but I would approach the teacher in a nice way and just mention it to her that your son came home saying he had to spend this amount of time each night at homework. However, I have had the experience of it myself, where a mother comes in, ready to give out to me over something I am meant to have said, which resulted in the end to us finding out that the child had totally picked it up wrong!!!!

03/09/2008 15:54 - Homework
Our kids only do around 1 hours homework in 6th class so 4 hours in 3rd class is definitely excessive. It would be worth asking a few other parents from your kids class as to how much their kids are doing. 4 hours per night would be more appropriate to junior or leaving certificate students!

03/09/2008 15:06 - Homework
In reply to your post. My son has just started 3rd class too. Our school recommends 3rd/4th class 45 minutes per day, and stress that its quality rather then quantity. Parents are advised that when they feel that the recommended time as been spent, the homework journal should be signed. These guidelines are set out in their homework policy. Maybe you should find out if your school has such a policy. 4 hours sould excessive, maybe you could clarify with your sons teacher. Good luck.

re... : Homework for 3rd class in primary school           reply