Parenting & Education in Ireland

Schooldays.ie - Ireland's Online Resource for Parents & Teachers

Parenting & Education

× Home Parents Associations About Us

How formal should PA meeting be?

re... : How formal should PA meeting be?           reply
25/02/2007 15:57 - Parents Associations
-----------------------------------
Its such a tough situation to be in. Your walking on egg shells to keep certain people happy. Have they forgotten the reason why they joined the parents association!!! Its so frustrating. We all want to help towards making a better future for our children. You do not need the hassle. I really hope this situtation changes for you. Its a demanding job, without adding a referee to your agenda.

08/11/2006 11:41 - Parents Associations
Hi Busy Mum here,
Many thanks to both of you for your reply. I feel that the meetings should be relaxed enough to encourage others to speak up. Its my first time to do anything like this, I feel pressurised to change. I have decided to continue on and be focused on the tasks at hand. I agree the board of management should be formal. We are just Mums who really want to help. Many thanks again.

re : How formal should PA meeting be?           reply
08/11/2006 10:24 - Parents Associations
Hi Busy Mum. There is no need for a PA meeting to be too formal once they are structured and the work is getting done. The formaliites are more appropriate to the Board of Management then to the PA meeting. If PA meetings are too formal and stuffy it will definitely put other parents off getting involved. Don´t apologise for your own style - continue with the relaxed approach - I´ve no doubt the majority of commitee members prefer it.

07/11/2006 23:02 - Parents Associations
Hi Busy Mum