Parenting & Education in Ireland

Schooldays.ie - Ireland's Online Resource for Parents & Teachers

Parenting & Education

× Home Parents Associations About Us

Start school at 4 or 5?

Start school at 4 or 5?           reply
09/12/2008 17:08 - Choosing a School / Application Procedures
-----------------------------------
My only son will be 4 in august next year and i´m in two minds whether to send him to school in september. He´s in creche for 2 years and is in montessori now and doing well but his speech is delayed. When he was assessed by a speech therapist she felt he was 15 months delayed. He has no other problems and is talking more and more all the time. My instinct tells me he was slow to talk because he is extremely easygoing and that he understands everything. The staff in the creche don´t find any differences day to day between him and his peers. I wonder would he benefit from the formal setting of school and if it would bring him on. I´m a complete novice......all advice will be gratefully received

re... : Start school at 4 or 5?           reply
30/12/2008 12:11 - Choosing a School / Application Procedures
Hi. I suggest that you leave it for another year. There is a condition called August Child,and you may find references to it on the Web. I found this one http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-489424/Augusts-child-doomed-exam-failure-classmates-year-older.html Basically, an August clild will not catch up with its peers as a childs brain has to be developed to a particular point to do certain tasks. I did read somewhere that they make better footballers as they are introduced to sports a year earlier! Best of luck.

09/02/2009 09:20 - Choosing a School / Application Procedures
As a preschool teacher, I would reccomend keeping your son at preschool for another year. Allow him the time now to become more confident and you will find school will be much easier on all levels.

re : Start school at 4 or 5?           reply