- Ireland's Online Resource for Parents & Teachers

Parenting & Education in Ireland - Ireland's Online Resource for Parents & Teachers

Parenting & Education

× Home Parents Associations About Us
Log in Register Forgot password? ×

The Primary School Curriculum - updated March 2023

A new Primary Curriculum Framework (PCF) was launched by the Minister for Education, on 9th March 2023, This is the first major change to the curriculum in 25 years. The PCF sets out the purpose, structure and content for the redeveloped curriculum in primary and special schools. The new curriculum is presented in five broad curriculum areas as shown below. An outline of each of the five curricular areas can be found on pages 17 and 18 of the Primary Curriculum Framework. In addition to the five areas, school patrons have a legal right to design their own programme in accordance with the ethos of their school.
Five Broad New Curriculum Areas:
  • Language (English, Irish, and a modern foreign language from stage 3 onwards)
  • Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Education
  • Wellbeing (Social, Personal and Health Education and Physical Education)•
  • Arts Education (Art, Music and Drama)
  • Social and Environmental Education (History and Geography).

    More about the new Primary Curriculum Framework (PCF)

    It is expected that the specifications of the new Framework will be introduced in the 2025/2026 school year. Over the intervening period from the launch of the Primary Curriculum Framework to the introduction of the specifications in the 2025/2026 school year, schools are encouraged to engage with the Framework as best suits them.  It is expected that the new Primary Mathematics Curriculum will be introduced to schools in the coming months. View more detailed information on the new curriculum on the links below. Further down the page you can view information on the current curriculum:

    About the current / old Primary School Curriculum

The current school curriculum was introduced in national schools in September 1999, There are 6 curriculum areas that are further divided into 11 subjects. These are
  • Language: Gaeilge & English
  • Mathematics
  • Social, Environmental and Scientific Education:History, Geography, Science
  • Arts Education: Music, Visual Arts, Drama
  • Physical Education
  • Social Personal and Health Education
You can read an overview of the Primary School Curriculum here. The NCCA has developed a DVD entitled The What, Why and How of Children's Learning in Primary School.The DVD provides parents with insights into children's experiences with the Primary School Curriculum. The DVD shows how parents can support their child's learning at home before going to school, during primary school, and in getting ready for post-primary school. The video is available to view in 5 different languages.

Primary School Subjects

By clicking on the individual subject titles below you will find more detailed curriculum information provided by the NCCA on the existing curriculum. For additional resources to support your child in some of the subject areas, visit our Learning Resources Section.

General Homework Resources

In addition to the resources which you can find by clicking on the links above for each subject, don't forget about the other resources which you can find on our website to help you support your child with their school work, homework and projects which include: